American Academy of Periodontology Recognizes Member Achievements

American Academy of Periodontology

SAN DIEGO– September 13, 2016The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) issued seven special recognitions to members for their contributions to the periodontics. The awardees were honored at a ceremony that took place during the AAP’s 102nd Annual Meeting, held Sept. 10-13 in San Diego.

“The Academy is happy to recognize members whose contributions have helped to strengthen the study and practice of periodontics,” said Dr. Wayne A. Aldredge, the Academy’s outgoing president. “These individuals have used their gifts to exemplify the AAP’s core values of education, innovation, advocacy, and commitment.”

General DentistryMaster Clinician Award: Dr. Stuart J. Forum is the recipient of the Master Clinician Award, which is bestowed annually to a member who has demonstrated consistent clinical excellence in periodontology and who continually shares that clinical experience with others. The Master Clinician Award is sponsored by Hu-Friedy.

Distinguished Service Award: For his continued service to the Academy and unwavering commitment to the specialty of periodontics, the AAP presents Dr. Jack G. Caton, clinician, researcher, and educator, with the 2016 Distinguished Service Award. A former associate editor of the Journal of Periodontology, Dr. Caton has also held a position on the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation, which develops and administers the standards of dental training programs across the country. Dr. Caton is a professor at the University of Rochester’s Department of Dentistry, and he maintains a periodontics practice in Rochester, N.Y.

Distinguished Scientist Award: The Distinguished Scientist Award is presented to an Academy member who has contributed to the clinical and basic science of periodontology through published literature and education. In addition to serving as chief investigator at the National Institute of Health’s (NIH’s) Laboratory of Oral Connective Tissue Biology, she is a Senior Advisor at the NIH Clinical Center, where she plays a key role in setting the vision for clinical research programs related to the dental, oral, and craniofacial complex. Dr. Somerman’s work has been published in more than 190 non-peer-reviewed and peer-reviewed journals, 17 book chapters, and three books. The Distinguished Scientist Award is sponsored by OraPharma.

Outstanding Periodontal Educator Award: This year’s recipient is Dr. Thomas C. Waldrop, tenured professor and director of postdoctoral periodontics at Virginia Commonwealth University’s (VCU’s) School of Dentistry. The Outstanding Periodontal Educator Award is sponsored by Hu-Friedy.

William J. Gies Award: Dr. Michael S. Reddy is the 2016 recipient of the William J. Gies Periodontology Award. Presented by the American Dental Education Association’s William J. Gies Foundation for the Advancement of Dentistry, this award is conferred to those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of periodontology. Dr. Reddy, currently the dean of the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Dentistry, has spent his career as a clinician and educator. Since 1989, he has been a staff clinician at both the Children’s Hospital of Alabama and at the UAB’s faculty practice. As a senior scientist at the UAB Center for Metabolic Bone Disease and the UAB Center for Aging, Dr. Reddy is a renowned researcher whose studies have focused on regenerative medicine as well as links between overall health and oral inflammation. He is also the associate editor of the Journal of Periodontology and has previously served on the editorial boards of the Journal of the American Dental Association and Journal of Dental Education. He has held roles as a reviewer for such publications as the Journal of Dental Research and International Journal of Periodontics and General Dentistry. In addition to service on a number of UAB School of Dentistry committees, Dr. Reddy has long been an active volunteer in organized dentistry, with service on the AAP’s Leadership Development and Qualifications Committee and its Task Force on Future Science. He is a past chair of the Academy’s Scientific Oversight Committee.

Clinical Research Award: This award is presented to an outstanding recently published scientific article with direct clinical relevance in periodontics. The 2016 recipients of this award, authors of “Update on the Prevalence of Periodontitis in Adults: NHANES 2009 to 2012,” which was published in the May 2015 edition of the Journal of Periodontology, are as follows: Paul I. Eke, Bruce A. Dye, Liang Wei, Gary D. Slade, Gina O. Thornton-Evans, Wenche S. Borgnakke, George W. Taylor, Roy C. Page, James D. Beck, and Robert J. Genco. The Clinical Research Award is sponsored by Quintessence Publishing.

R. Earl Robinson Periodontal Regeneration Award: This award recognizes an outstanding recent scientific article about periodontal regeneration in the clinical and basic sciences. This year’s recipients– Richard T. Kao, Salvador Nares, and Mark A. Reynolds— are the authors of “Periodontal Regeneration- Intrabony Defects: A Systematic Review from the AAP Regeneration Workshop,” which was published in the February 2015 edition of the Journal of Periodontology The R. Earl Robinson Periodontal Regeneration Award is sponsored by the AAP Foundation.

About the American Academy of Periodontology
The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) represents over 8,000 periodontists– specialists in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of inflammatory diseases affecting the gums and supporting structures of the teeth, and in the placement of dental implants. Periodontics is one of the nine dental specialties recognized by the American Dental Association.